Referees Criticized for Foul Call on Giannis Antetokounmpo
Game Summary
The Milwaukee Bucks suffered a heartbreaking 115-114 loss to the Charlotte Hornets on Saturday, with the game’s outcome hinging on a disputed foul call in the final seconds.
The Foul Call
With the Hornets trailing by one point, LaMelo Ball drove the right side of the lane and appeared to slip and fall. Replays did not appear to show any contact, but Giannis Antetokounmpo was whistled for the foul. Ball made both free throws to give Charlotte the lead.
Coach’s Reaction
Milwaukee coach Doc Rivers was critical of the referees, stating that the final play was "the ref blowing a call." Rivers also mentioned that this is the second consecutive game where the Bucks have been on the receiving end of an incorrect call on the final play.
Previous Similar Situation
A similar scenario occurred earlier in the week against the Detroit Pistons, where Antetokounmpo was whistled for a phantom call with 1 second left in regulation. However, in that game, Pistons forward Ron Holland II missed two free throws, and the game went into overtime, which the Bucks won 127-120 behind 59 points from Antetokounmpo.
Coach’s Frustration
Rivers expressed frustration at the lack of a challenge available to the Bucks, saying, "LaMelo Ball fell. He just fell down. Nobody was near him. He slipped on his own. We come up with the ball and the game is over. So back-to-back games now we have had a call made against us that is incorrect. We were lucky in Detroit the kid missed two free throws. Tonight LaMelo Ball made the free throws."
Conclusion
The disputed foul call has left the Bucks feeling frustrated and unlucky, with Rivers questioning the referees’ judgment. The Bucks will look to bounce back from this loss and continue their push for a playoff spot.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What was the outcome of the game between the Bucks and Hornets?
A: The Charlotte Hornets won the game 115-114.
Q: Who was whistled for the foul in the final seconds of the game?
A: Giannis Antetokounmpo was whistled for the foul.
Q: Did the Bucks have a challenge available to contest the foul call?
A: No, the Bucks did not have a challenge left.
Q: Is this the second consecutive game where the Bucks have been on the receiving end of an incorrect call on the final play?
A: Yes, according to Coach Rivers.